PCC 2019-2020

What is the PCC?

The primary purpose of the Parochial Church Council (PCC) is to discern, under God, Christ Church’s strategic vision and direction, but the PCC also has a number of legal responsibilities with regard to our buildings, finances, paid staff and legal compliance. As such, PCC members are considered ‘trustees’ by the Charity Commission.  The PCC meets eight times each year.

Find out more about what the PCC does and how it works in the PCC Handbook.

PCC Values

Be prayerful

Philippians 4:6, Ephesians 4:12

Jesus is at the centre of all we do. We will make our decisions prayerfully, and in accordance with the way we believe the Lord would wish them. He is present when we meet and we set aside time to meet with and listen to God

Be accountable

Galatians 6:1-2, 1 John 3:18

In all we do and say: to God, to each other, to the church family. We are visible at church gatherings, connecting with the wider church family. We are a contact point for small communities and support the subgroups of the PCC.

Love one another
Work as a team

John 13:34, 1 Peter 4:8, Romans 12:9

Discussions should be honest and proceed with respect. Conflict is a sign of healthy decision making and should not be shied away from, however differences of opinion should not be personalised. All approaches should be with the intention of coming to agreement. As a united front we hold each other in esteem and work together to build up and strengthen one another.

Be honest with one another
Be real with one another

2 Corinthians 8:21 2 Timothy 2:15

The PCC is a joint commitment and our discussions are a safe space where everyone’s contributions are important, remembering we are advocates for the wider church family. We are entitled to disagree with each other and we are entitled to change our minds. When agreement is reached all members should be willing to support the decision regardless of how they voted.

Encourage one another
Pursue personal growth

Hebrews 10:25

To work effectively and to find real meaning and purpose in our roles. To appreciate where God has placed each of us and to seek to be salt and light in those places. A key aim is continued growth, both spiritually and practically as we identify and nurture individual’s gifts. We are in a spiritual battle and must arm ourselves and protect each other accordingly. By spending time together (informally) and having fun together we can engender a culture of support for one another as we live life together.

Have a generous spirit

2 Corinthians 9:6-8

Be patient in our attitude to others and our communal responsibilities, emotionally and practically. No question is too trivial to ask.

Be loyal to one another and those in leadership
Operate confidentiality

Philippians 2:5 Ephesians 4:1-3

As a matter of course it is essential that PCC members do not speak about who said what at any meeting, with people who are not members of the Council. This could inhibit an honest sharing of views. We may not be able to always agree with one another in private but once a decision has been reached we will publicly support decisions made.

PCC Members 2020-21

The PCC is made up of Clergy, Church Wardens, members of the Deanery Synod and a number of elected members.  PCC members are elected at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) each April.   To stand for the PCC you must be 16 or over and on the church Electoral Roll.  PCC members are elected for a three year term.  Some church staff also attend PCC meetings but cannot vote.
No Photo icon   Erica
Rachel Ambler      Rev Erica Bebb
Elected Member   Clergy
No Photo icon   Chris B
Malcolm Bourne   Rev Chris Brown
PCC Member   Clergy
John B   No Photo icon
John Butler   Lucy D'orton-Gibson
Elected Member       Co-opted
Mark E   No Photo icon
Mark Ellis   Mei Yen Furey
Elected Member   PCC Member
No Photo icon   Alasdair
Hannah Gibney   Aladstair Groves
Elected Member   Elected Member
Jonny   Paul
Jonathan Hendry   Rev Paul Langham
Elected Member   Vicar
Janet   No Photo icon
Rev Janet Lee   Susannah Mason
Clergy   Elected Member
Dave N   Cluff
David Newton    Cluff Noon
Elected Member   Deanery Synod
Di   Mark O
Di Noon   Mark Orriss
Elected Member   Elected Member
Mark P   Tavi
Mark Parsons   Tavi Price
Operations Manager   Elected Member
Peter S   Graham
Peter Smithson   Graham Stuart
Elected member   Church Warden
No Photo icon   Sara
Dave Vernon   Sara Wadsworth
Elected member   Deanery Synod    
No Photo icon    
Anna Wright    
Deanery Synod