Bristol West Deanery Synod Report 2017

Bristol West Deanery Synod met three times in 2017. The meeting in February, held at Holy Trinity Westbury-on-Trym, began with a look forward to the celebrations to mark the parish's 1300th anniversary held later in the year. Synod discussed ideas for engaging younger generations and heard a presentation about the Sailors' Society, which provides pastoral care to seafarers.

The triennial Deanery Synod elections took place in the spring, and the newly elected Synod met in May at St Mary's Stoke Bishop. Thanks were expressed to David McGregor, who stood down as Lay Chair after nine years' service; Helen Clifton was elected as his successor. The new Synod spent some time in small groups discussing ideas for future Synods, including sharing ideas for best practice, social and political issues, and local mission. There were presentations from Clare Fussell (Diocesan Giving and Resources Adviser) on resourcing ministry and mission, and Nadine Parkinson (Tearfund) on PEP (Participatory Evaluative Process), a community development programme in northern Uganda, in which Christ Church Clifton is taking part.

The October meeting, held at St Peter's Henleaze, was given over to a presentation and group discussion on the appointment of the next Bishop of Bristol. Members of Synod and others present spent time in prayer for the appointment and discussed in small groups what impact they thought the next Bishop should make and what qualities he or she will need; the views expressed were passed back to the Vacancy-in-See Committee.

The link with northern Uganda continues to be active, and we will celebrate its fiftieth anniversary in 2019. A fund has been opened to assist the one million south Sudanese refugees in northern Uganda.

The new Avonside Mission Area – comprising St Mary's Stoke Bishop, St Edyth's Sea Mills, St Mary's Shirehampton, St Peter's Lawrence Weston and St Andrew's Avonmouth – was launched in October. The Revd Simon Potter has recently been appointed as Associate Vicar for the Mission Area, a new post funded by the Church Commissioners' Strategic Development Fund.

The Revd John Monaghan was instituted as Vicar of Sea Mills in October, and the Revd David Moss was licensed as Priest-in-Charge of North Severnside in November. There is an ongoing pastoral reorganisation of the Severnside parishes under way. When this is complete, David will be responsible for North Severnside (Alveston, Olveston, Elberton, Littleton-upon-Severn and Aust), and the Revd Philip Rowe for South Severnside (Almondsbury, Compton Greenfield, and Pilning and Severn Beach). David, Philip and the parishes are already operating in these partnerships.

Brendan Biggs

Acting Deanery Secretary